Connect with us


Mutual Recognition Agreement License

Mutual Recognition Agreement License

The Tri-National Mutual Recognition Agreement for the International Practice of Architecture between Canada, the United States and Mexico, known as the Tri-National Agreement, is an agreement between the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA), the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) in the United States and the Federacion de Colegios de Arquitectos de la Repéb mexicana (FCARM) in Mexico. The agreement allows mutual recognition of architectural qualifications in all three countries and allows architects to work beyond North American borders. Please note that some U.S. jurisdictions have not signed this MRA; If your main place of administration is a U.S. jurisdiction that is not on the list of signatories, you cannot contact the AIBC in accordance with these provisions. The MRA with Israel is an agreement on the evaluation of compliance and acceptance of industrial products (ACAA). It is a specific type of MRI based on the alignment of the legal system and infrastructure of the country concerned with that of the EU. These agreements benefit regulators by reducing dual controls in any other area, allowing for a greater focus on sites likely to be at higher risk and increased coverage of global supply chain inspections. Canada participates in the Asia Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Architect Project, which helps facilitate registration agreements for members with a good reputation in their area of expertise.

New Zealand and Australian architects recognized as APEC architects in their home economies may apply for expedited registration in Canadian law under the terms of the Canada/Australia/New Zealand Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA). If you want to become an APEC architect, you must have at least seven years of experience after registration. At present, this agreement does not cover other APEC countries. Please note that the APEC architect designation applies only to individually registered architects, not to firms or architectural firms. Canada/USA Mutual Recognition Agreement As announced by members of the Canadian Architectural Licensing Authorities (CALA), the Canada-U.S. Mutual Recognition Agreement (MRA) came into effect on January 1, 2014 and updated the long-standing relationship between the two countries. The 11 architectural regulators in Canada, including the Ontario Architects Association, are signatories to the MRA, as well as 41 of the U.S. Member Boards of the National Council of Architectural Registration Boards (NCARB) by concluding their individual supporting documents. The MRA provides for the reciprocal registration of architects practising in a jurisdiction that, as noted above, has signed a letter of commitment.

Architects holding a NCARB certificate and headquartered in a jurisdiction that has signed the letter of commitment may submit their NCARB certificate protocol to a jurisdiction or province, provided the court has also signed the letter of commitment. Architects considering a licence under this agreement should contact the relevant provincial/territorial/national authority to understand their individual reciprocal registration procedure.

Continue Reading
You may also like...

More in

Most Popular

To Top